Module Three Production Journal

As the author/creator, I plan to use a combination of approaches regarding my role within the video. I will be narrating, asking questions from behind the camera, as well as appear as a character within the video.

I don’t think the audience will necessarily need any background information in order to understand the topic. I will try to incorporate other people’s own views on my topic within the video, as well as work in my own overall views. Specific questions I may ask people will be along the lines of what they do in their spare time, what kinds of goals they set for themselves, what they do to improve the quality of their own lives, etc.

I need shots that visually portray the points that I am trying to get across. These would be shots that show people living purposefully and making use of their time. However, since each person will have their own unique take on this, I can’t say specifically what each shot will look like yet.

Anxieties and obstacles I think are certainly present already. One of my main concerns is that I want to visually portray my point without being too direct. Also, I may incorporate some acting as opposed to candid documentary-style footage, and I certainly run the risk of it being ineffective or coming across as forced. An alternative solution would be to rely more on interviews.

Leave a comment